One Step Beyond the Craft



You may not realise that Freemasonry is made of a number of different 'Progressive Orders'. This series will explain these various Orders and how they are linked.
Knights Templar and Knights of Malta
The full title of this Order is The United Religious, Military and Masonic Orders of the Temple and of St John of Jerusalem, Palestine, Rhodes, and Malta, in England and Wales and its Provinces Overseas. It is more familiarly known as ‘KT’.
Knights Templar meetings are held in Preceptories and under the authority of its warrant, Knights of Malta meetings in Priories are also held.
Qualification for joining is that a candidate must be a Royal Arch Mason and believe in the Trinitarian Faith. The joining ceremony is called ‘Installation’.
The regalia is based on that of a Templar Knight and consists of a cap, tunic, mantle, sash, belt and sword. The Malta regalia is similar but the tunic is red and mantle and cap are black.
The Order is based on the actions of a band of Knights who were granted a place of habitation within the sacred precincts of King Solomon’s Temple. The candidate is admitted as a pilgrim and undergoes a period of pilgrimage and warfare then penance and meditation before being made a Knight of the Temple.

You can find out more about this order here:

If you would like to start your journey into Freemasonry please join us by following this link: filling in the short form, our Membership Team will be in touch. 

The One and Only
Discover More about the Royal Arch

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to